

## LINK AGM, 24 November 2022

PAPER 3

# ELECTION OF BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND OFFICE BEARERS; APPOINTMENT OF PRESIDENT AND HONORARY FELLOWS

## 1. Election of Trustees

Each year 1/3 of Elected Trustees (or nearest number downward) is required to retire by rotation. This year these are Charles Dundas, Craig Macadam and Paul Walton. Craig and Paul have reached the end of their third term in office and both are therefore stepping down. LINK Board and staff would like to thank both Craig and Paul enormously for all their years of service and the high levels of support they have both offered trustees and staff alike, particularly in their roles on the Wildlife Group, on the Freshwater Group (Craig) and as Board members. Mary Scott has left National Trust for Scotland and has moved outwith the sector and is therefore stepping down also as Board member. Charles Dundas is eligible for re-election to the position of Chair, and under Section 46(c) of LINK Constitution, he has the support of the other Trustees on the Board, to continue as Chair. He is willing to retain that role if re-elected. This leaves three spaces for a representative from our member organisations and nominations have been invited from the membership. As of 31 October, one nomination had been received from Aedan Smith, Head of Policy and Advocacy at RSPB Scotland. Please see his nominee statement below.

LINK has in additional two co-optee Trustee spaces. Sam Gardner is stepping down to allow James Woodhouse to be nominated. James works for NatWest Bank and is willing to serve in 2022 - 2023, with a view to becoming LINK's Treasurer in 2023 – 2024 when Tim Ambrose will step down at the end of this three years. LINK Board and staff are very grateful to Sam for the support and input he has given to LINK over many years, as an active vice-Convenor and then a Board member.

## A vote to elect Trustees will be taken at the meeting.

Elected Trustees	Trustees retiring by	Trustees eligible for re-	Elected Trustees serving
during 2020/21	rotation at 2022	election at AGM 2022	until at least 2023
1. Charles Dundas (Chair)	Charles Dundas	Charles Dundas	
2. Craig Macadam (Vice	Craig Macadam		
Chair)			
3. Tim Ambrose (Treasurer)			Tim Ambrose
4. Paul Walton	Paul Walton		
6. Lucy Graham			Lucy Graham
7. Helen Senn			Helen Senn
8. Kevin Lelland			Kevin Lelland
9. Mary Scott	Mary Scott		
10. Kathy Wormald			Kathy Wormald

Co-opted Trustees 2021/22	Proposed Co-options 2022/23
Sam Gardner	
Karen Blackport	Karen Blackport
	James Woodhouse

## Nominee statements:

#### **Aedan Smith:**

I am Head of Policy and Advocacy for RSPB Scotland, which is part of the largest wildlife conservation charity in Europe. I lead the organisation's policy work and engagement with the Scottish Parliament and Government.

I am a Chartered Town Planner with 20 years' experience of working to try and ensure developments are positive for nature and climate and the regulatory frameworks that govern the use of land and sea are transformed to reflect the nature and climate emergency. I have engaged directly with hundreds of planning applications and the development of dozens of new laws and government policies.

I have been involved with LINK for over 15 years and am particularly proud to have been Convener of the LINK Planning Group for many years, including during some significant planning reforms. I remain active in a number of LINK Groups including Economics and Governance Groups. I am also an experienced charity trustee and am currently a trustee of Stop Climate Chaos Scotland (SCCS) and the Environmental Rights Centre for Scotland (ERCS). I would be delighted to be given the opportunity to use my skills and experience to support the continued successes of Scottish Environment LINK as a trustee.

Nominated by: Craig MacAdam, Conservation Director, Buglife

Seconded by: Paul Walton. Head of Species and Habitats, RSPB Scotland

### 2. Office Bearers for 2022/23

Subject to decision on the above, the Board is pleased to recommend Charles Dundas for election as Chair, Kevin Lelland for election as Vice Chair and Tim Ambrose for election as Treasurer

A vote to elect the Office Bearers will be taken at the meeting.

## 3. Proposed Co-options

We propose to re-co-opt Karen Blackport, who has agreed to serve for another year. We would like to co-opt James Woodhouse to the Board for 2022 – 2023. James brings financial expertise to LINK Board, from his current role as Head of Retail Banking Forecasting & Insight at NatWest bank. He has worked at PriceWaterhouseCoopers and brings audit knowledge from that role.

## 4. Appointment of President

The position of LINK President is currently vacant following the retiral of Joyce McMillan in Autumn 2019.

## 5. Appointment of Honorary Fellows

Fellowship is open to individuals who share an interest and commitment to environmental issues and are interested in and able to support LINK's work.

This year, LINK Board has pleasure in recommending the following as Honorary fellows:

Proposed by LINK Board 2022	Reason for proposal
Eila Macqueen	Eila retired as Director of Archaeology Scotland in August 2022. Having led Archaeology Scotland as Director for 18 years, Eila has a wealth of experience in management, fundraising, strategic planning, archaeology, museums and community engagement.
Richard Dixon	Richard retired as Director of Friends of the Earth Scotland in April 2022. With 30 years experience leading both FoES and WWF Scotland, Richard has very high levels of experience in policy and leadership in the eNGO sector in Scotland. He currently sits on the Board of Environment Standards Scotland and works as an environment consultant.
Sam Gardner	Sam is Head of Climate Change and Sustainability at Scottish Power. Sam has served as co-opted trustee on LINK Board for 3 years. Before that he was active on a number of LINK Groups, including marine and wildlife and he served on LINK Board for 5 years, as representative for WWF Scotland, where he was Head of Policy and then acting Director of WWF Scotland. Sam brings knowledge and experience both of working within the eNGO sector in Scotland and also in business. He is currently Chair of Edinburgh Climate Commission.

A vote will be taken at the meeting.